.

LTE: Yes To Allen, No To Kaine

Aldie residents make their case for the Republican in the U.S. Senate Race.

America is in danger. We face unprecedented loss of liberty, weakened national security, ignored Constitutional firewalls and a European fiscal future. My children will inherit a severely weakened country; and her future is more uncertain than ever.

The Senate election is just as critical as the Presidency; and my family’s choice is George Allen. Tim Kaine is an extreme Leftist/Progressive, albeit with a smooth Clintonian style. Electing him is asking for six years of Barack Obama and Harry Reid’s policies and tactics.

As governor, Kaine fought for higher taxes, Cap and Trade, entitlement expansion, amnesty and gun control. Kaine is very much like Mayor Bloomberg and Gov. Martin O’Malley and he operates with mindset of a Richmond City councilman, not a national leader who represents all Virginia.

Allen accomplished more as governor with a Democratic legislature resulting in fiscal discipline, job growth, truth in sentencing, raising academic standards and creating the 529 savings plan.  As senator, he upheld the Constitution, opposed taxes, and proposed market solutions and a balanced budget. He understands Washington and national defense.

But Tim Kaine’s recent claim to be a bipartisan is the most absurd for the following reasons:

He was handpicked by Barack Obama (who also selected Debbie Wasserman Schultz) to head the Democratic Party. Can anyone seriously argue that Obama’s Chief Political Pitchman and Fundraiser can be rebranded as a moderate?

As DNC Chairman, Kaine did not exercise a moderating influence. He led a historic loss of Democrat seats at all levels in government in 2010 and he saw the Democrat Party affiliation significantly decline.

We are facing Sequestration cuts. It’s like using a chainsaw when a scalpel will do. The Super Committee broke down in November 2011 in a fight to raise taxes on the rich. Yet this is the same argument that Kaine is using to sell his “balanced approach”, which incidentally, has never been independently vetted. Would a bipartisan try to reuse a failed approach or would he propose re-evaluating cuts using a more deliberative and bottom up process? And would a bipartisan cut Defense by this much in time of war?

Under Democrat control, the U.S. Senate has failed its basic duty to produce a budget in four years. Mark Warner and Jim Webb have been part of the problem and have voted in lock step with Barack Obama. Mark Warner is Kaine’s mentor, so why is gridlock less likely with Kaine? What would he do differently?

Early in 2006, Kaine unilaterally signed over the Silver Line to MWAA bypassing the legislative approval and the procurement process. Now, we in Northern Virginia are paying the price in perpetually increasing Dulles Toll Road fares managed by a corrupt organization.

On day 6, Kaine proposed a massive tax increase. He fought like cats and dogs with the Republican House throughout his term. His regional tax idea was ruled unconstitutional, his abuser fines had to be refunded, and his Special Sessions ended in failure. He closed rest stops to try and pressure the legislature. His final budget during the recession was so poorly designed that it was summarily rejected 97-0 and even the bill’s sponsor abstained.

Kaine failed to honor his commitment to fund transportation while overlooking $1.4 billion in unspent VDOT funds and he spent enormous energy on the Silver Line in pursuit of his green agenda.

Kaine decided to make the so-called “war on women” a centerpiece of his campaign and has thrown ridiculous innuendos at George Allen. Kaine’s social positions include abortion on demand, gay marriage, criticizing the Catholic Church’s lawsuit, and opposing Virginia’s marriage amendment. After he left state government for the national stage, he has steadily moved to the far left.

Obamacare was the most far-reaching, partisan and nontransparent legislation in modern history. Most of the country wants it repealed or significantly modified. Yet Kaine has been its most visible and ardent supporter. 

Finally, Tim Kaine resorts to unprofessional statements and racial innuendo to disarm his opponents. He answers difficult policy questions as if he is still in the courtroom. In addition, he uses religion as a political credential and to argue for “social justice” legislation while ignoring his Church’s key teachings.

If you want a repeat of the last four years and a Leftist/Progressive ideologue representing you, then Tim Kaine is your man. If you want a change and someone who will work with Mitt Romney, then vote for George Allen who is the only candidate with a record of accomplishments as governor and Senator.

Thad and Doreen Hunter
Aldie, Va

VA_in_VA November 02, 2012 at 03:09 PM
" Tim Kaine is an extreme Leftist/Progressive,..." After this statement, there is no need to read on. This declarative statement is exactly why we are where we are today. This iteration of the GOP have become so divisive and closed-minded - it's truly sad. To claim the Kaine is anything but the most moderate, pragmatic Democrats is nothing but GOP tea party dominated dogma. Northern Virginia is too educated to fall for this talking-point garbage. Vote for Kaine for moderate thoughtful government.
Rick Tocchet November 02, 2012 at 04:57 PM
Timbo was hand selected to chair the DNC by the most radical Leftist/Communist ever to occupy the White House.
VA_in_VA November 02, 2012 at 06:13 PM
Communist? Really, Mr John Birch? This is the rhetoric that has no chance to win over moderate independent voters. You have your base. Congrats on that. You have NONE of the middle. I want an opposition party, meaning an opposing viewpoint that is rational and reasoned. Please, when the election is over in a couple of days and your side loses most if not all of the major offices, just chill out and relax. No one is coming after our freedom, be it your gun, your religion, or anything else for that matter. Grow up and learn to cooperate and comprise. Its the only way we can get anything done. I have a completely open mind and I am simply waiting for yours.
Price Bob November 02, 2012 at 06:48 PM
Sick rape burthers !!!
Tim Cooke November 02, 2012 at 06:59 PM
To head the DNC, you can't be a centrist. You must be at least a little left leaning. My problem with Tim Kaine is that he has no spine. He claims to practice his Catholic faith by being against Capital Punishment and Abortion. Yet he says he won't take any action to eliminate those things he finds immoral. That's like saying that I find stealing immoral, but I'm not going to enact laws to make it illegal. That is the definition of a political animal. Will do and ay anything to be elected...even going against his supposed moral background.
VA_in_VA November 02, 2012 at 07:19 PM
No spine? Sounds exactly like your GOP presidential candidate :) Mr Mitt Weathervane. Mr. say anything to get elected. As far as Mr. Kaine's positions on those contentious issues, his point is that he can personally be against the death penalty and abortion, but he doesn't believe his personal view should dictate onto the majority held belief or opinion or choice. The morality of these issues is not universally held. The centrist view is to leave it up to the individual to decide for themselves. Its their conscience that is affected and only they have to live with that decision. Being a recovering Catholic myself, I know exactly where he's coming from.
Tim Cooke November 02, 2012 at 07:50 PM
Mitt Romney is not my presidential candidate. I really don't like either of my choices for President or Senate. As for the Tim Kaine issue, the centrist view shouldn't matter. If you believe something is morally wrong, how you back measures to support those things. I'm a Catholic who is against the death penalty and abortion. I believe in social justice. Tim Kaine espouses his faith as a pillar of his life...but doesn't have the backbone to go against his party on the issues. Senator Casey from Pennsylvania is a prime example of a successful Pro-Life Democrat. I'd support Kaine as soon as he grows a set.
Stevens Miller November 02, 2012 at 11:42 PM
Tim Kaine has never had a noose in his office, nor thrown his brother through a plate-glass sliding door.
Thad Hunter November 02, 2012 at 11:44 PM
I didn't see you refute any of my arguments. When you say the middle, if you mean Independents then George Allen is doing quite well with them and Mitt Romney is doing extremely well.
Thad Hunter November 02, 2012 at 11:53 PM
You say that you don't need to read an opposing view but then go on say that it is the GOP who is close minded. But since you mentioned the Tea Party, here are some not so moderate comments from Tim Kaine: "What we're seeing in the Republican Party is that they invited the Tea Party in and it's turning into the Donner Party." DNC Chair Tim Kaine Compares The GOP To Cannibals http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/14/dnc-tim-kaine-cannibals-gop_n_716614.html Paul's win was a "crushing blow to national Republicans and Senator [Mitch] McConnell and also additional evidence that there is a corrosive and divisive civil war occurring on the Republican side," Democratic National Committee chairman Tim Kaine said at a National Press Club luncheon speech today. DNC Chair Tim Kaine casts the Tea Party as "corrosive and divisive" http://voices.washingtonpost.com/thefix/republican-party/dnc-chair-tim-kaine-casts-the.html
Thad Hunter November 03, 2012 at 12:10 AM
The issues with Tim Kaine when it comes to religion are constitutionality and credibility: -He will not defend all of our First Amendment rights since he called the Catholic Church's lawsuit wrong. -He presumes to dictate how people should pray in public and drove out chaplains who did not pray in a non-sectarian manner. http://www.christiannewswire.com/news/275958004.html -He uses his Catholic faith as a political credential and then arbitrarily ignores Church’s teaching on non-negotiable tenets of faith and the duty of a Catholic lawmaker to legally resist unjust laws according to Evangelium Vitae 73. -He over-rationalizes his government policy positions with religious sentiment. I agree with your observation on personal/public consistency. It is illogical and the person who uses it is really saying that I don’t care or I am unwilling to defend it my belief. For example: I have a deeply held, faith-based personal belief against [blank]; but I will not oppose it. Substitute [blank] with: Stealing (your example), Racism, Intolerance, Killing Jews, Oppressing the poor, Sharia law, Torture, or Lowering taxes on the rich.
Thad Hunter November 03, 2012 at 12:20 AM
I think Kaine was fairly consistent with his position on the death penalty. He signed most of the death warrants and vetoed every piece of death penalty related legislation including the Beltway Sniper triggerman rule, which was his right. Trying to hand Jens Soering to the Germans just before he left office; however, was a clear attempt to circumvent the law. Now we come to abortion. When he was running for Lt. Gov and Gov he claimed to be personally pro-life; however, as governor he terminated abstinence funding, and in recent years he has become the darling of Planned Parenthood who gave him a mega fundraiser in NYC the summer. In addition, he has never supported any of Virginia’s attempts to discourage abortion on demand and as I mentioned in my post he has chosen to make the “war on women” a central campaign theme.
Thad Hunter November 03, 2012 at 12:25 AM
When Tim Kaine was grilled by Jon Stewart he did lose it on national tv and gave Obamacare opponents the finger. Very classy don’t you think? Sep 8, 2010 Jon Stewart: Dude You're In Trouble Interview – Jump to 1:45 http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-september-8-2010/tim-kaine
VA_in_VA November 03, 2012 at 01:41 AM
Thad: Let me be a clear as possible. Consider this an intervention. You are isolated. You are nowhere near a majority in you opinion. You have every right to believe what you believe... but you and your ilk are alone. You and your cohorts represent a fraction of the electorate, and a small fraction at that. And that fraction is getting smaller everyday with your divisive rhetoric and hate. You call out people as leftist communist, Marxist yada yada yada... yet you don't realize how silly and ignorant you sound when saying it. When Wednesday morning comes and the sun rises in the East, please realize we are Americans and we voted... and we rejected what you tried to do. All the devise hate and intimidation. The vote suppression. and above all the name calling. We rejected it out of hand and came together behind candidates we believe in. Please respect that and allow work to be done.
Gary F. November 03, 2012 at 03:32 PM
Let me help ya'll out. Allen is a shallow thinker who has accomplished nothing. He does not deserve to be elected ( let him get a real job), and will not be elected come Tuesday, because the MAJORITY view will prevail.
Thad Hunter November 04, 2012 at 01:45 PM
It seems that you are unable to address any of my points with facts or logic. You are one using terms like communist and marxist. I just called him a leftist, which he is. Don't you approve of him being a leftist along with his policies?
VA_in_VA November 04, 2012 at 02:35 PM
Thad: I do not have to address any point you have made because you haven't made any coherent points. Your last statement simply attempted to assault someone character for some bizarrely perceived hand gesture? Really? That's just getting silly. There, was that clear enough on addressing how just dumb that comment really was? Don't get me started on the Catholic Faith comments. Those are just way out of line and have no place in political debate. I think we already have a war going on right now against those attempting to use religion to justify their actions. Do I have to insult you directly and personally by furthering my comparison???
Thad Hunter November 04, 2012 at 03:20 PM
@ VA_in_VA Tim Kaine is the one who says that is his rationale for taking political positions. He is the one bringing religion into his campaign as he has done since 2005 and seeking to expand government into our lives. Tim Kaine has repeatedly based his social justice political policies based on as he has said “his deep Catholic faith.” He said that it motivates his politics. Since he is the one volunteering this information, then voters have the right to ask why is he using the Catholicism on the one hand while being inconsistent with Catholic Church’s non-negotiable teachings and why he does not follow the Church's instruction to Catholic lawmakers to resist injustice laws. But more importantly, this is a reason not to trust him to live within the Constitutional boundaries for federal government. And as governor and candidate, Kaine has not stood for and protected our First Amendment rights. If you are concerned about hostility, hate, etc. then you should join with me and demand that government get out of lives. That would be the single greatest act to bring the country back together.
Thad Hunter November 04, 2012 at 03:47 PM
@VA_in_VA You might be interested in today's article: Obama campaign releases ad citing moral, Biblical background for administration policies Read more: http://politics.blogs.foxnews.com/2012/11/03/obama-campaign-releases-ad-citing-moral-biblical-background-administration-policies-1#ixzz2BGkk02wC
VA_in_VA November 04, 2012 at 04:25 PM
Sanctimonious BS. Stop the flag waving made up "rights" infringement. It's "perceived" not actual. If they were truly infringed the courts would strike them down, but they don't. The real problem is grid lock by the House right now. The GOP have been the road-block to get things done, not the Democrats. The so-called Grand Bargain was agreed upon by the Speaker of the House who ran with his tail between his legs away when the tea party folks said no. Its your side that won't comprise and will eventually destroy our country's credit rating and economy.
Thad Hunter November 04, 2012 at 05:06 PM
@VA_in_VA Barack Obama orchestrated sequestration, but I am happy to join you in saying that many RINOs also participated and caved. Tim Kaine has been using the pending sequestration as leverage to raise taxes. And since the Budget Control Act Super Committee broke down over this same tax issue in November, it is not particularly bipartisan or helpful for Tim Kaine to come back again and call for the same policy. He also says that across the board cuts are not smart; however, that is exactly what sequestration is. The Democrats have been in charge of the Senate during the last entire year and they refused to offer alternatives after stalling in Nov. The Republican House passed a budget bill and Harry Reid refused to bring it to a vote. Tim Kaine is only going to pretend to be a moderate (which is how most senate Democrats candidates are currently running) and then if elected he will vote with Harry Reid just like Mark Warner and Jim Webb have done. I think it’s fair to say that Tim Kaine and Mark Warner are peas in a pod. And Tim is quite the stubborn man. I offer how he dealt with transportation as governor as evidence. George Allen is right in saying that we should reset the clock and repeal poorly thought out legislation like sequestration and Obamacare and start over by agreeing first on what the priorities are and what the problem is that we trying to solve. With Tim Kaine we are assured of more gridlock.
joe brewer November 05, 2012 at 01:42 PM
Did his brother derserve to be thrown through the window?
Randy Rawson November 08, 2012 at 04:59 PM
Apparently Loudoun County and the Commonwealth of Virginia do not agree with the Hunters in any way. The Governor, now Senator-Elect, received a decisive vote of confidence.
Thad Hunter November 08, 2012 at 06:09 PM
@Randy: You would be more accurate by saying 52.08% of the Commonwealth do not agree with us, as opposed to your phrase “in any way.” It’s interesting that you and no one else who commented were able to one refute my points or provide evidence that Tim Kaine has operated as a bipartisan. I expect that the next six years will provide even more evidence to support my view beginning with Kaine voting for Harry Reid as Senate Leader who promised not to work with Mitt Romney if he had been elected.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »